One Day at a Time

The prompt for this week’s 100 Words is “… being clear is essential to …” Here is my entry:

100wcgu-71

I remember what it felt like. When I was deep in the throes of my addiction, I often felt disassociated from my own life. I had the sense that there was another life that I should be living, just out of reach, just beyond my sightline.

I would get glimpses of it sometimes. Brief, sweet glimpses of a life with meaning, Then it would be gone and the shreds of it would haunt my days as a human doing, not a human being. That was the life I should be living. And sobriety, being clear, is essential to experience it.

4 thoughts on “One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

