100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

only 100 words, suitable for PG certificate and in by Monday 30th January. – here is the prompt
~ …you bought her what… ~ here is my entry:

So much anticipation. Did you not think, even for a moment, that the pressure of receiving your gift would overwhelm your efforts once again? I know I did.

It feels sometimes like you don’t even know her. Like you wish she could be someone else. Your gifts come with a message – you’re just not good enough. It wasn’t something she would ever choose for herself. Expensive, and frivolous. Trying too hard to be sexy. She’ll never wear it. She’ll think she would look ridiculous. She’ll just add to the others she keeps hidden away. And resent you all the more.

8 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

  1. A very thoughtful story.
    I love the line, “Your gifts come with a message …” this is so true. The trouble is the message we give can sometimes be the wrong one.
    Thanks for a great read.

  2. Goodness, there’s a lot going on here! It leaves you wondering what the rest of the story is. Nicely put together, and thoughtful. Not sure if I’ve seen you on 100WC before? Sorry if i’m being hopeless (not uncommon!) – but welcome if you have only just joined in.

  3. Thanks for your comment on my blog! I’m glad you liked my post about nurses – they are wonderful, aren’t they? I’m sorry about your mother. I do hope she is better, or getting better.

  4. Oh dear – how sad that so much time and money is being spent here for all the wrong reasons and for all the wrong results. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this challenge and I hope you’ll join in regularly!

Leave a Reply

