Christmas – what’s up with that?

So it’s Christmas Eve, and I’m out in the car listening to the news. One of the stories is about singer Rod Stewart, and the fact that he is hoping to get all his kids together this Christmas. Now Rod has eight children, with five different women, and apparently they have never all been together. Not once. Granted, being Christmas Eve it was surely a slow news day but really.

The fact that so many families today are blended, or broken, or dramatically altered is commonplace I know. One of the (many) things I hate about this festive season is that, like a wedding, Christmas brings up every existing and potential land mine of difficult relationships and opportunities for bad feelings.
The pressure to create a “Walton Family’ atmosphere creates great stress in families that don’t fit the mould anymore – if any of them ever really did. Whether you have lost a parent this year, have children who are living far away, or have other issues – including financial ones – which can keep you apart, the pain of separation is exacerbated by the forced gaiety of the traditional Christmas gathering.

For me, it is the loss of my Mother’s company that is stinging this Christmas. Locked in her dementia ward, I was hoping to bring her home at least for a few hours, but the visit with her tonight at the home proved to me that it wasn’t going to be possible. I have several friends who have lost parents in the last year and will be missing that person as they gather around the table. For the first time in his entire life, my eldest son will not be with us for Christmas dinner. He is spending Christmas morning at home with his fiancée, and having dinner with her family. That’s how it works. I get to have them both on Christmas Eve and I’m grateful for that.
I remember clearly when my mother-in-law protested that my husband wasn’t going to be there for Christmas morning by saying “But you have to spend it with your family!” To which my husband replied, “Mom, Leslie IS my family now.” That still makes me smile remembering.
So this Christmas, try to be nice to everyone that crosses your path. Be patient and calm. Accept that things are going to change – they always do. Make the effort, and make the best of it. Enjoy the small pleasures. It’s just another day and it’s almost over.
Merry Christmas!

5 thoughts on “Christmas – what’s up with that?

  1. “So this Christmas, try to be nice to everyone that crosses your path. Be patient and calm. Accept that things are going to change – they always do. Make the effort, and make the best of it. Enjoy the small pleasures. It’s just another day and it’s almost over.
    Merry Christmas!”
    Great advice Leslie

  2. I’m one of 4 kids (3 with multiple child-producing ex-spouses) with 14 nieces and nephews (7 over 18 and in relationships) and 4 grand nieces and nephews. We all met the night before Christmas eve with the exception of one nephew who is a new police officer and couldn’t get the night off. My brother is working in Afghanistan, and my mom and stepdad live a state away, and they were there as well. I don’t know if we’ll ever be able to pull off a stunt close to this again.
    On another note, I am so sorry about your mom. Ever time I read stories like this, it reminds me to appreciate my mom more while I still have her and most of her functioning brain cells.

Leave a Reply

