Fan does come from the word “Fanatic”

I think I am the only person who feels sorry for Mariah Yeater, the young woman who has claimed that Justin Bieber fathered her baby, in a bathroom backstage after his concert in Los Angeles last July. First of all, this girl was 20 years old and …this is key… she was at a Justin Bieber concert! That is incredibly sad, whether she was there by herself or whether she was babysitting a bunch of 11 year olds and left them unattended while she had sex in the bathroom with Justin.
Now I don’t think she really did have sex with him – but she does. “She believes Justin Bieber is the father,” her lawyer told Chicago TV channel WGNtv on Wednesday. My guess? A 20 year old girl at a concert, perhaps had imbibed something which affected her judgement. You think? Now add in a guy, say…one of the maintenance staff at the venue or, even better, a creepy young man who has enhanced his slightly similar appearance to Justin’s by clever use of hair products and large sunglass. This guy follows the Justin concert schedule and for the price of a ticket is able to hang around near the stage doors and entice young women into thinking he is the real deal. Perhaps Justin’s management even pays him to act as a decoy to enable our young star to disappear into his limousine unmolested at the end of every show – which is what he maintains he does after every show.
Young female fans are particularly vulnerable. From the girls swooning over Sinatra at the Paramount in 1952, to the girls screaming at La Guardia as the Beatles arrived in 1964, to the hordes of screaming girls who trampled me in the summer of 1976 trying to get close to, wait for it, the Bay City Rollers. Good Lord. I get it, I really do. It’s fun to have a bigger than life idol that you can spend lots of time and money on. Hey I’ve been to more than 15 Springsteen concerts – but that’s different. It’s Springsteen for heaven’s sake!
Robert Pattinson, of Twilight fame (did I have to say that on today of all days with Breaking Dawn Part 1 opening in just a few hours!) has been approached by hundreds of girls asking him to bite their necks. It freaks him out, as well it should.
So, while the young mother in the Bieber saga has dropped her lawsuit, her lawyer says she intends to pursue it privately. I have to agree with Bieber’s spokesman Matthew Hiltzik who called it “sad that someone would fabricate such a malicious, defamatory, and demonstrably false claim”. I think it’s even sadder that this chick had sex in the bathroom with some guy after a concert – whether it was Justin Bieber or not.

13 thoughts on “Fan does come from the word “Fanatic”

    • two things for your consideration: Wordsmith.org – sign up for the word of the day – it’s always so interesting. AND the game Originz – that is about the etymology of words – but on small cards so I keep it in the car for road trips!

  1. I’m near tears at how sad and pathetic people have become, especially over Justin Bieber. Have you ever seen Josie and the Pussycats? Well, it’s a terrible movie (I say that now, but I own the soundtrack), but it does make fun of how music entrances and basically brainwashes people. Maybe Justin Bieber’s music does that–sends out sexual/emotional vibes that make girls go absolutely crazy. I only know of one of his songs (Baby baby baby ohhhh), and I’m too afraid to listen to more because I don’t want to catch Bieber Fever.

  2. I sooo forgot about the Bay City Rollers, I loved them! When I was 15 it was fun and exciting, isn’t that what being young is about? Now, I do agree that people can take it too far. Remeber the ones that threw their panties at Donny Osmond? Maybe, this will turn into a teaching moment for this young woman and she will take the gifts away that this experience has taught her.

    Oh, by the way Leslie, I agree that Springstein doesn’t not come under the same category….I’ve been to at least 18 concerts. “Rock On”

  3. You may indeed be the only one who feels sorry for Mariah Yeater… well, and maybe also her lawyer, although I suspect he’s feeling more sorry about himself right now that he’s not going to be entitled to a big pile of dough. I’m also feeling a little sorry for both me, you, and your previous commenter Karen Simmonds that we’re all old enough to remember the Bay City Rollers.

    • The Bay City Rollers? I remember The Beatles on The Ed Sullivan Show. And the Stones on that same show having to sing “Let’s spend some time together” instead of the “Let’s spend the night together”. Ah, where did our innocence go?

Leave a Reply

